Holiday baking!! EEEK!

IMG_1214

Wow….it has been a long time since I’ve written here.  Pregnancy was not fun for me, and the little one takes up more time than I ever imagined.  Now that the kiddo is 9 months old, I have a little extra time to write again.  Maybe. We’ll see how much I get done before she wakes up from her nap 🙂

It’s December and you all know what that means.  It’s time for holiday treats.  I decided to make the first batch of holiday cookies today and my hubby requested peanut butter with chocolate chips.  More specifically, extra soft peanut butter with chocolate chips.  I’ve made several different recipes in the past and some of them have passed muster with DH, but I never seem to note which recipes those were.  I’m going to try to be better about that. So this year, I’m going to post whatever treats I’m making and the results, so I can be more efficient in future baking endeavors.  Hopefully.

So enough chatting, more cookies….

I found several recipes that looked promising and ended up doing a combo of several.  I wanted a cookie that was very peanut-buttery (is that a word?) plus lots of chocolate, and of course, they have to be SOFT.

I used my trusty Kitchen Aid mixer and blended 1 stick of butter, softened (use the real stuff please, or why bother?) with 3/4 cup of peanut butter (we like smooth, but I’m sure either would work fine).  After that’s blended, add 1/3 cup granulated sugar and 1/3 cup brown sugar.  Mix again and then add 1 egg, a teaspoon of vanilla, and 2 tablespoons of half and half (milk would probably be fine, but we were out).  Beat at medium speed until fluffy.

In a separate bowl, combine 1 and 1/2 cups all purpose flour with 1 teaspoon baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon salt using a fork.   Then slowly add this dry mixture to the wet ingredients in your mixing bowl.  I ran the mixer on low while I slowly poured the dry ingredients in.  Once everything is combined, mix in 1 and 1/2 cups chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet, but I bet milk or dark would be equally yummy.) Refrigerate dough for 20 min or so (or long enough to get the kiddo down for a nap).

Roll dough into balls (approx 1 tablespoon or so) and flatten slightly with your fingers, about 2 inches apart on un-greased cookie sheets lined with silicone mats or parchment paper (I use the silicone mats. These are my favs.  http://www.amazon.com/Artisan-pk-Non-Stick-Silicone-Baking/dp/B00629K4YK/ref=sr_1_1?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1417978155&sr=1-1)

Bake for 8 minutes at 350 with the convection setting (375 degrees standard). Let cool on pans for 2 minutes or so, then move to wire racks to cool completely.  They will have the slightest light brown edge when they are done, and if you try to move them from the baking sheet too quickly, they will break on you.  Enjoy (preferably warm) with a tall glass of milk (unless you are out like I am, lol)

I’ll add a more printer friendly version of the recipe to this post once I can figure out how to do that.

Leave a Reply

